Facebook has been flooded with complaints from users who say some of their old private messages have been re-published publicly on the social network.

Read Time:1 Minute, 51 Second

Even though not validated yet Facebook denies the claim

http://engineeringevil.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=3008&action=edit&message=6

Facebook flooded with complaints after messages ‘bug’

 Facebook flooded with complaints after messages 'bug'

Some Facebook users said that messages they had sent privately on the social network between 2007 and 2009 were being republished into their public timelines on the site Photo: REX FEATURES

<!– remove the whitespace added by escenic before end of tag –>

By Shane Richmond

8:22PM BST 24 Sep 2012

However, Facebook denied that there had been a privacy breach and claimed the messages were old public messages that were being reposted because of a bug.

Some users said that messages they had sent privately on the social network between 2007 and 2009 were being republished into their public timelines on the site. Though it was not clear how many people were affected, there were complaints from users in Britain, America and in Europe.

Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s founder and chief executive, was hit by the bug. His profile showed a message to a friend that said “2009 is going to be a huge year”.

A Facebook spokesman said: “A small number of users raised concerns after what they mistakenly believed to be private messages appeared on their Timeline. Our engineers investigated these reports and found that the messages were older wall posts that had always been visible on the users’ profile pages. Facebook is satisfied that there has been no breach of user privacy.”

Some were unconvinced by the denial, however. Colleen Taylor, a writer for an American technology website, said that she had confirmed with friends that messages appearing in their timelines were originally sent as private messages.

Last week, Facebook added a new feature that shows members of the site their search history and lets them delete searches they do not want Facebook to retain. The feature is part of Facebook’s Activity Log, which lets members of the social network see what information Facebook holds on them.

Facebook said: ‘It’s important to remember that no one else can see your Activity Log, including your search activity.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/facebook/9563855/Facebook-flooded-with-complaints-after-messages-bug.html



Categories: Health Technology News

Average Rating

5 Star
0%
4 Star
0%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
%d bloggers like this: